Good Math Websites

Diane Hunsaker – Mathematics

Back to Instructor Webpages

NOTE: These websites are located off the LBCC server. LBCC is not responsible for their content.

MATH VIDEOS
You Tube (http://youtube.com/)
Type a specific math topic into the search box. Contributors often make series of videos. If you find a video that you like, look for others by the same person.

Khan Academy (http://khanacademy.org/)

Math TV (http://mathtv.com/)


OTHER MATH HELP

Cool Math (http://coolmath.com/)
This very colorful website has lots of good information and fun activities.

Math.com (http://www.math.com/)
Click on the "Practice" tab along the top to access tutorials.

Math Forum (http://mathforum.org/)

      Ask Dr. Math (http://mathforum.org/dr.math/)
      This has answers to commonly asked questions and archives of other
      questions. You may also send a question to Dr. Math.

      Chameleon Graphing (http://mathforum.org/cgraph)
      This is a good introduction to the coordinate plane and lines.

West Texas A&M University
(http://www.wtamu.edu/academic/anns/mps/math/mathlab)
This site covers beginning and intermediate algebra.

Purple Math (http://www.purplemath.com/)
This site covers beginning to advanced algebra. Click on "Index of Lessons" in the upper left below the heading to access tutorials.

National Library of Virtual Manipulatives
(http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/category_g_4_t_2.html)
This site uses graphics (virtual manipulatives) to help students understand math. For example, balance beams are used to picture and solve basic algebraic equations.


GRAPH PAPER
PrintFreeGraphPaper.com (http://www.printfreegraphpaper.com)
This site creates a full sheet of graph paper and puts it in Adobe PDF format.

Math Worksheets Land
(http://www.mathworksheetsland.com/topics/graphing/paper.html)
More graphs.


MATH DICTIONARY
Math Words (http://www.mathwords.com/)
This site provides definitions of common math words. It's mostly for algebra level and above but does have some basic math terms.


MATH ANXIETY HELP
Math.com (http://www.math.com/students/advice/anxiety.html)


MATH HISTORY
The MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
(http://www-history.mcs.st-and.ac.uk/history/)


FUN STUFF
The Mystical Ball
(http://www.transum.org/Maths/Investigation/Mind_Reader/)
This mystical ball reads your mind. Can you figure out how?

Frog Leap Puzzle (http://www.justriddlesandmore.com/frogleap.html)
This puzzle is more challenging than it looks.

Fractals (http://fractalus.com/)
This site has several galleries of fractal art and offers resources for those who want to learn more about it.

The Official M.C. Escher Website (http://www.mcescher.com/Gallery/gallery.htm)
This site contains galleries of M.C. Escher's artwork. M.C. Escher is one of the best-known mathematical artists. He did tessellations and other art involving perspective.




Other pages in this section: Diane Hunsaker | Helpful Information for LBCC Math Classes | Mth 95 Notes from SmartBoard

Show all of Diane Hunsaker's web pages.

Instructors can Logon here